The following post brought my attention to a 30 Day Poetry Challenge, which with their blessing I am going to attempt to give a go! A recent post of mine lamented my lack of drive to write regularly. On one hand, creativity is not a working tap; sometimes it leaks, sometimes it flows and something the pressure is all wrong. On the other hand, the advice I read from many writers is, the need to discipline yourself. So, without further ado:

Day 1- Write a poem where each line starts with a letter from your first name (an acrostic). It can be about anything, but it should not be about you or your name.

 

Apathy

Keepsakes, over, I’ve wept

Roaches, aside, I’ve swept

It began with the end of you,

Started when nothing was in bloom.

Trenches, down, I’ve dug

Islands, inside, I’ve touched

Apathy, nothing moves me from this tomb,

Not even Spring in bloom.

Apathy, nothing moves me like you.

____________________

For the challenge, click here.

